18th Annual Conference IAMG2017

2-9 September 2017, Esplanade Hotel Fremantle, Western Australia

Register Now!

Join industry professionals in Fremantle,
Western Australia for IAMG2017
Click here to register now!


Join our Mailing List

Join our mailing list to be kept up to date with information on the Conference


Key Dates

Abstract Submissions Open: Closed
Abstracts Close: Closed
Registration Opens: Open Now!
Author/Early Registration Deadline: 2 June 2017
Conference Dates: 2 – 9 September 2017

Register Now

Registration Open – click below for more information:

Register Now »

Conference Program

Click below for the latest Conference Program:

Conference Program »

Join Our Mailing List

Join our mailing list to be kept up to date with information on the Conference.

Latest Tweets

Contact Us

Arinex Pty Ltd
Arinex Pty Ltd
ABN.28 000 386 676

3/110 Mounts Bay Road
Perth WA 6000
Ph: +61 2 9265 0700
Fax: +61 2 9267 5443
Email: iamg2017@arinex.com.au

Thank you for attending IAMG2017!

On behalf of IAMG2017 Organising Committee we would like to thank you for joining us in Fremantle for the International Association of Mathematical Geosciences Conference from the 2 – 9 September 2017.

We would like to take this opportunity to give a special thanks to the Conference sponsors and speakers for their invaluable contribution and support.



On behalf of the International Association for Mathematical Geosciences (IAMG), we invite you to participate in our 18th Annual Conference, IAMG2017. The conference will be held in the historic port city of Fremantle in Western Australia, 2-9 September 2017.

The aim of the conference is to promote the advancement of mathematics, statistics and informatics in the geosciences. Areas of geoscience application include studies of the Earth, its natural resources and the environment.

IAMG2017 will provide a venue for the presentation of new research in the form of oral and poster presentations at the Esplanade Hotel. We invite researchers to submit abstracts via our abstract submission portal. We also welcome proposals for short courses and workshops associated with the conference. The IAMG2017 Scientific Committee, composed of distinguished experts, will ensure an outstanding technical level for the presentations at the conference. There will be exhibition space available for geoscience related industries to showcase recent technological developments, including software. The economy of Western Australia relies heavily on its mineral and energy resources and we particularly urge related industries to participate in this conference and support research.

We welcome students and young scientists to the conference. In order to attract their participation we will be offering short courses targeted specifically at early career researchers as well as prizes for outstanding student presentations.

When not attending scientific sessions, there is always plenty to do in Fremantle: it hosts markets, an arts centre and art galleries as well as museums and the historic prison. It is also a popular location for eating out, offering a plentiful choice of restaurants and cafes. There is a wide variety of accommodation to suit all budgets from luxury hotels to backpacker style. Fremantle is approximately one hour drive from Perth International Airport.

Our Organising Committee represents major teaching and research institutions:

  • Oktay Erten (Conference Chair), Western Australian School of Mines, Curtin University
  • Ute Mueller, Edith Cowan University
  • June Hill, Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO)
  • Mark Jessell, University of Western Australia
  • Eric Grunsky, University of Waterloo, Canada
  • Erkan Topal, Nazarbayev University, Kazakhstan; Western Australian School of Mines, Curtin University

We hope that you will join us at IAMG2017, and take a little extra time to enjoy the spectacular landscape and breathtaking scenery of Western Australia.

Click here to register now!

Oktay Erten
International Association for Mathematical Geosciences 18th Annual Conference Organising Committee